I have been thinking a lot about power recently and its impact on our daily lives. I have come to a conclusion that power is the reason behind most, if not all, of the world’s problems. If I doodle a flow chart from poverty I find myself at the implications of power. If I doodle a flow chart of domestic violence I find myself at the impaction of power. Same goes for rape, some cases of murder, molestation, war, all forms of violence and some forms of heartbreak.

I actively became interested in International Development when the Burmese militia refused international aid for its civilian population after the devastating cyclone in 2008. Unaware of Burma’s history I watched, read and pondered in despair how easily the Burmese people were left to die. International efforts were in place but with no organisation from the ruling junta to disperse food, medicine and other vital equipment needed during the natural disaster. All these emotions and thought came back to me after watching “The Lady”, a biography of the superwomen that is Aung San Suu Kyi and her efforts to build a democratic government in Burma.

My previous posts have outlined by thoughts on Democracy building, I do not believe in Western force to build democracy because I can’t see sustainability. I do, however, see internal democracy building as sustainable. What the National League of Democracy are doing is fighting to regain power for the people of Burma. They are fed up of not having their voices heard because having their voices heard could result in not having a voice at all. The National League of Democracy gives Burma a hopeful voice. A voice that brings fear to a regime as they fight against the oppression they suffered. They are against the people, governments and regimes that continually find ways to exercise their power. Power that kill their children, mothers and fathers. Power that kills their spirits. Power that kills them.

If the Taliban didn’t impose their brutal beliefs, if North Korea and the West did not compete with their weapons of mass destruction, if the Syrian government didn’t fight against their people, if Robert Mugabe didn’t feed his greed, if the husband didn’t beat his wife, if the women could drive a car in Saudi Arabia then maybe we could live in a more peaceful world.

I will use this post to remind my self that it’s ok to be wrong because the power of being right is not what’s most important. I will refuse the power to be right because being wrong shows I have the power to grow. I will refuse the power to want to be ahead because what’s really wrong with where I currently stand? I will use my strength to fight for the not so strong because I am empowered to do so.

A scene in the “The Lady” shows the superwoman that is Aung San Suu Kyi walking past a dozen machine guns pointed at her and her party when setting up a campaign stage, demonstrating that her power will not be crushed. Another scene: not allowing the junta to use her broken heart, for her dying husband, to end her fight to build democracy. Another scene: treating her prison guards as oppressed boys that were asked to be powerful men. Another scene: her strength to strengthen a population to vote and protest for democracy.

I am empowered to not let power succumb me. This TED video further illustrates what I wish I could say, as the beautiful words give light to a world that crumbles at our very footsteps, but a world that we have to live in and so a world we must also fight for.

